44th week of Poetry

August 28

 

Lies

Lies
Lies

That’s all we have nowadays

Lies to each other

Lies about what times we’re living in

Lies beaming in on us from Governmental Headquarters

Lies

Lies
Lies

And it will never stop

It can’t stop

The Lies

Drones

Drones

Drones

NSA

NSA
NSA

Obama

Bush

Smosh

Syria

PRISM

TV

Social Media

It’s all just

Lies

Lies

And Lies.

 

August 29

 

I’m  going

to Belize,

someday.

 

August 30

 

Sad to hear

about a Mother’s Death

Sad to hear

Sad to see

an old friend

be a cuckold

and a fool

and still not be happy

in his machismo, machistic

state of mind

State of mind

I’m always in a state of mind

About these things,

I guess.

 

August 31

 

Well,

goodbye

Summer.

 

September 1

 

Back from the Keys

All day sets of canoeing and swimming

And lollygagging

And all I can think about

(beyond that helpful, cheerful, nice, all-around great waitress

from Mrs. Mac’s kitchen)

is what happened on tonight’s episode of

Breaking Bad

What’s wrong with me?

Or, what’s right with me?

 

September 2

 

MANICURE

Manicure

manicure

ManIcure

manIcure

ManiCure

MANiCURE

September 3

School has started

Should I care?
School has started

Am I even here?

School has started

Should I keep on writing?

School has started

And I’m still all alone

Alone alone alone

That’s the name of the game

Surrounded by friends

Did school start?

I just can’t say

So, I guess,

I’ll go on,

And repeat myself

And rip myself off

And be receptive

Reductive

Reclusive

Reproductive

All of the above

And much, much more

So manicure your hair

Pedicure your face

Do whatever you like

Leave me alone

Quote the Raven,

Nevermore.

1 Comment

Filed under 365 poems

One response to “44th week of Poetry

Leave a Reply

