To Be A Better Writer

When I say I want to be a better writer, for business and for pleasure and for knowledge, is not some frivolous statement: I have said, throughout my life, that there is nothing else that I want to do besides be a better writer.

The world gave me an opportunity to write, and I’m writing and writing every day, but I know that I can be better, that I can use this forever, and that I need to get better at it.

I wouldn’t say I’m a career writer looking for instant success or dollar signs, but I’m a man who wants to write, and wants to help out others, and make a go at this whole “writing” life. It’s hard to not generalize and be a cliche with these types of posts, but this is who I am.

When people have asked me “Why do you want to be a writer?’, I always say that: 1)”What else can I do?” and 2) “I have to write, man.”

Everything I have ever submitted has been rejected, and I still write. I’ve been a ghost writer for a travel company, and that soon closed up. I’ve been a co-editor of a literary and arts magazine that never really wanted me, to begin with. And yet, I still write.

That is all I CAN do. I write.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

